Poor Ohio. Passing through.

I’ll next be heading into New York and visiting my uncle in Johnson City. I’m not sure what he’ll want to join me for, but I’d like to hang out with him for at least a day or so; more if he’s enthusiastic about the things I want to do or if he makes some other plans for us. There seem to be a lot of good state parks in New York, so I intend to explore some pretty thoroughly. I think I’ll spend a day exploring the Adirondack park region. Researching these parks on the Internet is somewhat dull. It’s much more fun to find them on the road–to stop and find them randomly–so that’s the plan.

New York

  • Irish Town
    There doesn’t seem to be much left here, but it will be on my way, and I love ghost towns.
  • Love Canal
    “In 1953, the Hooker Chemical Company, then the owners and operators of [Love Canal], covered the canal with earth and sold it to the city for one dollar.”It was a bad buy.”It turns out the company dumped chemicals all over the place. In 1978, the effects of this improper dumping showed themselves.”Corroding waste-disposal drums could be seen breaking up through the grounds of backyards. Trees and gardens were turning black and dying. One entire swimming pool had been had been popped up from its foundation, afloat now on a small sea of chemicals. Puddles of noxious substances were pointed out to me by the residents. Some of these puddles were in their yards, some were in their basements, others yet were on the school grounds. Everywhere the air had a faint, choking smell. Children returned from play with burns on their hands and faces.”

    I don’t think I’ll actually try to visit the area, but I’ve always wanted to visit places of extreme toxicity/radiation. It seems like it’d be fun to look for the effects and search for mutated plants and wildlife. Unfortunately, I’m too wary of the health risks.

  • Tahawas or Adirondak
    Also: here. The Internet gives me conflicting information about whether or not this place is fully a ghost town (I read something about renovations done to certain areas), but from what I can see, it looks worth seeing. It would be annoying to have to deal with construction crews, but still better than not going at all.
  • Yonkers Power Station
    “NOW MORE THAN FORTY YEARS after it closed, the Yonkers Power Station remains abandoned, a hulking industrial ruin facing out across the river toward the cliffs of the palisades. Its boilers and turbines were long ago taken for scrap. Since the late 1970s it has belonged to a private owner who has left it to the elements. Unsecured doors have beckoned untold numbers of curious explorers to wander its vast, dramatic interior spaces, from its great turbine hall, evocative of a cathedral nave, to the network of rusting catwalks that weave about its massive coal bunkers.”
    There are also some photos here. I love industrial ruins…
  • Abandoned Highway
    I probably won’t visit this, but these photos are interesting. It’s strange seeing a highway taken over by growth; to see something that typically moves so fast now forgotten. Probably not worth a special trip, though.
  • Staten Island Ship Graveyard
    This looks spectacular. Hopefully I’ll be able to rent a rowboat or something so that I can fully explore this wreckage.
  • Bennett College in Millbrook
    Hopefully these ruins remain as decrepit as they appear in these photos.

While it has broader interest than just my trip, this link is interesting. Some fine looking abandoned places in Japan, in addition to those in Philadelphia and California, which I may have the opportunity to check out.

